Camp

I want to thank you all for your prayer about this weekend! Camp was a total success and I truly believe your prayers were a part of that! God is so good, despite all of the obstacles we faced that could have stopped camp from happening, he orchestrated everything. We were delayed one night because of the hartal, but we made it!  There were tons of fun  games, crafts, dances, activities, messages, skits, devotional times, and worship times. And meals! Good old curry… Breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

I was a team leader for 18 people including my counselors, and I really felt a connection with the kids on my team. We worked together to make a team chant, to make a team poster, to organize and perform a skit, and do our games, activities and devotionals together. It was great to see them enthused, working as a team, and seeking God together. I had such cool kids on my team, I was so sad to have to say goodbye after so short of a time, but they still have a special place in my heart and in my prayers and hopefully I will get to see some of them again!

Of course my favorite times were the worship and prayer times. The kids  have a blast doing upbeat action songs, it’s hard to keep the silly grin off your face while dancing and singing with them! It is SO cool to see these kids seeking and encountering the presence of God!! A huge highlight for me was alter-call where we got to pray for the kids. The worship was so anointed and the presence of God was so tangible.  I was just struck with awe at the love I have for these kids I didn’t really know, as I held their little bodies  praying for them; experiencing even such a small part of the love God has for them was overwhelming and brought me to tears.  Their hearts are so beautiful and I see such an incredible future for each and every one of them, and it is a continual reminder that the Lord says,

I tell you the truth: unless you change and become like little children, you will never enter the kingdom of heaven.

Therefore, whoever humbles himself like this child is the greatest in the kingdom of heaven. (Matt 18:3,4)

I wish I could have taken pictures during that time to show you how awesome these kids were just embracing God’s presence, but I was busy at this point. :)  Some more highlights were watching the kids play games, especially the water fight at the end. I love seeing them run around with silly big grins on their faces, and splashing in the well.  It was also fun to hear the kids scream their chants throughout camp, with such energy and enthusiasm. There was definitely some creativity and I love how they really pointed towards Jesus in their chants. :) Go kids!!

There was lots more but I will leave you with that for now. God is good, forever and always. Here’s a few of the pictures I got at camp. Please do not use them without my permission.

IMG_3356   IMG_3299    IMG_3340IMG_3347 IMG_3329IMG_3296 IMG_3285IMG_3283 IMG_3269 IMG_3251 IMG_3196 IMG_3147 IMG_3084 IMG_2999 IMG_2982 IMG_2958 IMG_2931

3 comments


Leave a Reply

